Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Swing It, Sunny
Cover of Swing It, Sunny
Swing It, Sunny
Sunny Series, Book 2
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter the strange and unfriendly hallways of... middle school. When her Gramps calls her from Florida to ask how she's doing, she always tells him she's...
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter the strange and unfriendly hallways of... middle school. When her Gramps calls her from Florida to ask how she's doing, she always tells him she's...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter the strange and unfriendly hallways of... middle school. When her Gramps calls her from Florida to ask how she's doing, she always tells him she's fine. But the truth? Sunny is NOT having the best time. Not only is the whole middle school thing confusing... but life at home is confusing, too. Sunny misses her brother Dale, who's been sent to boarding school. But when Dale comes back, she STILL misses him... because he's changed. Luckily Sunny's got her best friend and a mysterious new neighbor on her side... because she is NOT going let all this confusion get her down. Instead, she's going to remain Sunny-side up!

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from August 1, 2017

    Gr 4-6-It's autumn of 1976, and Sunny has just entered middle school. Her older brother, Dale, has been sent to boarding school to help with his drug problem, and life isn't the same at home. But Sunny tries to stay positive. She and her best friend plan their Halloween costumes, watch popular TV shows, listen to records, and read comics. When Dale returns home for Thanksgiving, he's angry that his family sent him away. With some sage advice from Gramps, Sunny learns that she can't always fix everything but that offering her brother love and support may be enough. Fans of Sunny Side Up will adore this sequel, which provides enough background for new readers to jump right in. The exaggerated, cartoonlike artwork strikes the right balance of humor and heart, candidly conveying Sunny's emotions. References to 1970s pop culture, such as General Hospital and pet rocks, add authenticity. The Holms are realistic about Sunny's complicated family situation yet imbue the upbeat narrative with hope. VERDICT A must-have for middle grade graphic novel collections.-Marissa Lieberman, East Orange Public Library, NJ

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • DOGO Books pizzagirl7 - After an awesome summer it's finally over and that leaves sunny with middle school it's a rollercoaster of ride for sunny during school she misses her brother Dale that got sent away to boarding school for doing bad things .but when she got to visited him he came to home or Christmas and she gave him a pet rock.later when he went back to padding school she went him a blanket for the pet rock and his heart was warmed😁☺☺ they have a good relationship but he is still in boarding school slot of other stuff happens but I'm not going to spoil it all for yall!I rate this book 5/5!
  • Booklist

    July 1, 2017
    Grades 3-7 Sunny Lewin is back home after spending the summer with Gramps in Florida (Sunny Side Up, 2015), but things aren't quite back to normal. She's starting middle school, hanging out with her best friend, playing with her baby brother, and making friends with her new next-door neighbor, but her brother's in a military boarding school after getting into trouble with drugs, and she's worried about whether he's okay. In breezy vignettes spanning a school year, the Holms offer glimpses into Sunny's day-to-day, but her fun is frequently interrupted by fears about her brother, which are often triggered by totally unrelated things, like a TV show and an idle joke made by her parents. While bright, cartoonish art and lively atmosphere are certainly playful, there's a serious undercurrent of emotional complexity here. The Holms do an impressive job of tapping into the free-associative way kids process anxiety, and Sunny's gradual process of facing her fears and finding a way to relate to her brother is sweet and inspiring. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2017, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Scholastic Inc.
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Swing It, Sunny
Swing It, Sunny
Sunny Series, Book 2
Jennifer L. Holm
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Swing It, Sunny
Swing It, Sunny
Sunny Series, Book 2
Jennifer L. Holm
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Jackson Local Schools Libraries, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close